SMOOTHIN’

Those of you who have followed me for a while would know that when it comes to dressing up, I usually get inspiration from the movies I watch or tv series I’m currently hooked on. I don’t religiously read fashion magazines nor go through a lot of menswear blogs–don’t get me wrong, I also get inspiration from those but I get a different kind of excitement when I watch a movie–specifically aesthetically pleasing ones.

I was recently hooked on Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I know, pretty random. Set  in a magical world full of dragons, trick suitcases, and Victorian fashion. Needless to say, Newt Scamander’s outfit definitely got my attention. The tailored overcoat, wool pants, corduroy vest, bespoke dress shirt, bow tie and leather briefcase–everything was working.

On my recent trip to Switzerland, I knew it was the perfect opportunity to recreate this look. Of course, I had limited resources–I didn’t have every single piece similar to what Newt Scamander was wearing in the movie. Also, I did not want to look like I was wandering the streets of Switzerland like I was from the Victorian era nor risk looking like I was wearing a costume.

I started with the basics–the crisp white button down. I then paired it with this beautiful pair of trousers I got from Perry Ellis. A rich brown overcoat and instead of a bow tie (which I have no guts in wearing), I sticked to this printed scarf. The scarf is actually pretty long so I tucked them inside my dress shirt. Finished off the look with a brown leather man purse and brown brogues. There you go! What do you think of this Newt Scamander-inspired look? Let me know in the comments section below!

SET UP1

Leave a Reply

